Maleficent – Review


 Maleficent -01

 .

I asked my brother what he’d like to do for his birthday, he suggested a film.  We both love movies, but we hardly ever go to the cinema, we seem to watch most films on our computers.   In fact we had a real problem trying to remember what film we last went to see in the cinema, memories are getting bad!!

Maleficent appeared to be a good choice, even though it was mainly a children’s film it looked like it might be entertaining.  We thought if the story was a disappointment at least it was hopeful it would visually impress.  So like a couple of middle aged kids we took ourselves to the cinema and discovered we had no need to fear wasting time or money, it really was excellent!
.

Maleficent-2014-332Maleficent is the story of Sleeping Beauty.  Disney have created an animated version of Sleeping Beauty before in 1959, this is the story retold beginning with the background to Maleficent as a young innocent fairy before she became evil.
.

.I won’t be boring and go into the details of the story, but will just say, if like me you are drawn to some pure fantasy occasionally, and don’t mind a lot of digital effects, you might really enjoy this film.  It not only gets five stars from me for an entertaining and thought provoking story and being visually stunning, but it’s a film to be enjoyed for a wide age range.  There aren’t many movies you can say that about.  Although I would say if you’re thinking of taking very young children (under 7) make sure they can handle a few scary bits especially involving a huge fire breathing dragon, and a few other scary moments.  Might be a little too much for some kids.  But having said that there were a lot very young children at that Saturday afternoon screening and I barely knew they were there, I certainly didn’t hear any crying at frightening scenes.  Maybe they were just a very secure, well behaved bunch of kids, but I got a feeling it was because they were thoroughly entertained.
.

I was also very impressed with Angelina’s perfectly spoken English accent – very convincing for that chilling character.  Here’s a short clip from the scene where Maleficent arrives uninvited to the palace on the day of the christening, it’s a good example of that accent.

.

Maleficent_review_article_story_large

.

There were so many things I enjoyed about Maleficent, but what really stood out to me was the emphasis on what real love was, and it wasn’t presented in the usual slushy Disney way, but reminded me of how some similar subjects have been presented in Doctor Who recently, very mature and with full class!  I won’t spoil your enjoyment by revealing who wakes the princess from her long sleep with that kiss of true love, but I guarantee it will surprise you.  It was an excellent lesson in what love is and what it’s not.  So if that kind of story appeals to you, then don’t miss an opportunity to see this entertaining film.


MALEFICENTI read recently in the Huffington Post that Angelina Jolie’s four year old daughter Vivienne played some short scenes of the young Princess Aurora, because no other child would come near her with that black costume and those large horns.  I don’t blame them at all, she was very convincing in her evil role, I think I would have felt the same at that age!  Here’s Angelina talking about why her daughter was chosen to play the role.

.

If you want to read more about the story read on here, but be warned, if you read it all it may be a real spoiler.  For the full cast list see IMD – Maleficent.

.

.

.

.
A collection of scenes from Maleficent tumblr_n7js7aSXEw1sy3b1jo3_1280

tumblr_n7js7aSXEw1sy3b1jo4_500

tumblr_n7js7aSXEw1sy3b1jo6_1280

tumblr_n7js7aSXEw1sy3b1jo2_1280

.

.

.

cropped-blog-header-4566789987Visit my other blog wordmusing

.

7 thoughts on “Maleficent – Review

    1. It is interesting to see how they remake these stories, and the story Sleeping Beauty has many slightly different versions over many years. This version has become my favourite all because of that awakening kiss, it really is a good message for young minds, much better than those stories when I was growing up. It was always the handsome prince that solved everything, and that is so not true! I feel that tells lies to little girls and makes boys turn into men who feel under pressure to be the one who has an answer for everything especially in relationships. But maybe I’m taking this too seriously – it is fiction after all!! 🙂

      1. I love fiction lol I agree with you, some movies do set the tone for the way young minds think here in reality. I just hope that as they grow, they will know the difference between fiction and nonfiction. Though, I love the current version of the movie too. I like it because of the special effects. That’s why, I fell in love with the Harry Potter Movies. Lol. Though, I wonder will it be a sequel to the Sleepy Beauty Movie. I surely, hope so, if so, I’d definitely watch it!!

    1. Haha, well a lot of us are big kids in adult bodies!! 😀 It’s got some real depth to the story though, I hope you get to see it Melanie, I don’t think it will disappoint you! 🙂

  1. I like the fairly tales as well. This film looks very good. Definitely, I will be looking forward to see the film but I will wait for it to come out for rental 🙂

    1. It’s definitely a good one to see in the cinema mainly because of the special effects and the sound, creates a feeling as if you’ve really been to that fairy land. The DVD would be a much better price though, because going to a cinema is not cheap in the UK. The last time I went it cost about £7.50 and this time it was just under £10 per ticket. £20 for two people to see one film does feel a little extreme to me. Cinema companies have really lost the ability to run a place you’d want to return to! Everything is so focused on food, high priced junk food and the way the cinema looks. My parents used to go and see films every week in the 50’s and 60’s, and the price was incredibly cheap, cinemas had no problems attracting an audience, they were full all the time. I guess that’s the way it goes, nothing will stay the same! 🙂

Leave a comment

