The Dark Hedges, County Antrim, Ireland


the-dark-hedges-county-antrim-ireland-02.
I was fascinated by this image!  I found the enchanting tree lined road is known as ‘The Dark Hedges’ Bregagh Road, County Antrim, Ireland.  It made me think of The Lion the Witch and the Wardrobe – so haunting, but so beautiful too!

The avenue of beech trees was originally planted by the Stuart family in the eighteenth century, intended as a compelling landscape feature to impress visitors as they approached the entrance to their Georgian mansion (Gracehill House).  The iconic trees have been used as a filming location in HBO’s epic series Game of Thrones.

the-dark-hedges-tree-tunnel-15Kings Road
As Ayra Stark escaped from the King’s landing, disguised as a boy.

the-dark-hedges-tree-tunnel-16Christopher Tait

the-dark-hedges-tree-tunnel-3Matthew Woodhouse Photography

the-dark-hedges-tree-tunnel-4Dominic Kummer

the-dark-hedges-tree-tunnel-2Stephen Emerson

See more images on WordPress.  Information on how to get there.

 .

.

.

cropped-blog-header-4566789987Visit my other blog wordmusing

.

12 thoughts on “The Dark Hedges, County Antrim, Ireland

  1. Hello Suzy,
    thanks for this nice pic! I was in Eirland one time and I love Eirland.
    Lovely regards from Austria & Germany
    Yasmin

    1. I’m very glad to hear you found that lovely picture on this blog, it is quite an extraordinary road! I’ve been to Ireland just the one time myself. My dad was from Ireland, we went as a family, it’s a lovely place with warm friendly people. Thank you for taking the time to let me know Yasmin, I appreciate that very much! 🙂

  2. wow! I love all of these pictures! Thank you for showing us this magnificent spot in different seasons. There’s something haunting and beautiful about it all at the same time. Impossible not to feel anything when you look at it.

    1. They are a great example of what some very talented photographers can do with a tree lined road! Yes, I don’t think I’ve ever seen a scene that has a haunting feel as well as being beautiful, and it changes a lot depending on the kind of weather and the quality of light. Definitely impossible not to feel anything looking at these! And thank you for following Linda! 🙂

    1. Yes, you did on Facebook, the Black and white one. I did a thorough Google search after posting on Facebook and found so many stunning pictures I just had to include it here. It seems to get a variety of interesting weather, beautiful sunlight, lots of fog, and snow storms, makes it all the more intriguing, especially for the photographer! 🙂

Leave a comment

