The Peacock Spider


tumblr_myfumxOWes1rpe379o1_r2_500.

tumblr_mhmlc2S0s41qm8fzgo5_r1_1280I’m tempted to say how beautiful, because it is – but it’s a spider!!

I was amazed when I first saw this Peacock Spider, I’ve never seen anything like it before, and look how tiny they are!

 

Β Apologies to any of you who hate spiders, but I couldn’t resist sharing this colourful dancing insect!

.

More info on the Peacock Spider
also
New species of Peacock Spider discovered

Β .
.

.

.

cropped-blog-header-4566789987Visit my other blog WordMusing

.

20 thoughts on “The Peacock Spider

    1. Oh definitely pretty! But, I wouldn’t be so keen if I came across this in the bathroom. I wouldn’t want to squash it though, not now that I’ve seen what a clever dancer it is! That’s a lot of hard work just to get a lady interested!!! πŸ˜€

    1. Definitely a bit like a crab. And they look quite cuddly too! Some of the videos on You Tube show real close ups, revealing just how much hairy fur they have. Although I’m sure, a bit like a butterfly they would probably disintegrate if they were touched too much, they look very delicate, especially that peacock wing piece.

    1. No, I don’t think it’s a threat to humans, which is nice for a change. So if you find one of these dancing on your pillow on waking up, you can enjoy it! πŸ˜‰ Oh no, the blocked video!! There’s another video on that link I gave to Scientific American about the new species of Peacock Spider found. It’s a compilation of different spiders, very similar to this one, you might want to try that one. But also if you put peacock spider into You Tube, there are loads of videos to choose from. It’s odd that I’ve not heard of it before, it seems a very popular subject! πŸ™‚

  1. Yes, I would say it is beautiful and also cute. I like the way he (I assume it is he) moves around and showing off the colorful thing (?). He lifts legs (two of them) and tries to make himself taller too. I assumed this is a courtship. Too bad, it did not seem to work for him πŸ™‚

    1. Yes it is a he, I reread the article I made a link to on here about a new species of peacock spider and the colourful dancing one is always the male. I guessed it probably was, but I have heard with some spiders it’s the female who does the chasing! Haha, no it didn’t seem to work out for him! πŸ˜€ I love the way he very slowly reaches out to the female with two short front legs (or maybe they’re his arms!) and then she does a sharp ping backwards *nope* not today! Maybe she had a headache or was thinking of washing her hair!! πŸ˜‰

Leave a comment

