Agnes Obel


agnes_obel_press_photo

I first found Agnes Obel while searching on You Tube for Ane Brun.  It was one of those nice surprises where You Tube suggests people I’ve never heard of before who turn out to be one of my favourites.  My favourite list is growing quite rapidly these days!

Agnes Obel is a Danish singer/songwriter who’s first album Philharmonics was released in 2010.  Trying to establish what her music genre is has been difficult.  She’s listed on various music websites as Folk, Classical, Indie, Alternative/Indie Rock, and plain old Pop/Rock.  Perhaps nobody is really sure what music style she has?  I quite like that, because putting musicians and artists in a limited box is not always helpful.  I think I’d describe her as serene and inspiring.  She has the kind of songs you can lie back and relax to on a Sunday afternoon or turn them up a little louder and be inspired to write some poetry!  All the music I’ve discovered of her so far seems to be recorded in English, but I’m sure she does sing in her own language sometimes, I just haven’t found any yet!

If you’re interested in finding out a bit more about her here’s her Wikipedia bio and website, also a link to an interview.  Unfortunately it’s in four separate parts! One ~ Two ~ Three ~ Four

Enjoy the music!

.

.

Quite long for a music video, it’s more than one song, Fuel To Fire (12.22) is especially beautiful and the sound quality in this session is really amazing!

.

.

.

14836005432Visit my other blog WordMusing

.

15 thoughts on “Agnes Obel

  1. I run into few artists that I like from YouTube suggestion while searching for some songs too (not necessary any famous ones). You also introduced good ones as this post. Oh yes, the Fuel to Fire is a beautiful piece!

    I do not know about poetry but good songs during photo editing is a happy time for me 🙂

    Thank you for sharing!

    1. Fuel To Fire is one of my favourites at the moment, it gets played quite a lot in my home! Oh yes, music while you photo edit is good too. Music while you do anything is good, I sometimes use it when I’m doing housework. I hate cleaning and tidying up, but it’s got to be done, I find it helps me get it done a lot quicker – useful illusions!! 😀

  2. Oh, she is just lovely. I see what you mean by inspiring. Might have seen her before somewhere, her music is familiar. Thanks for bringing me back round to her again!

    1. Very good to hear you like her! I called her inspiring because, her music really does have that effect on me. Certain singers – there’s something about their music that just makes me want to write and encourages new ideas, she’s definitely one of those for me! 🙂

  3. I love her voice!!! I love the combination of the piano and the chiming in of the violin. Really nice song Ms Suzy!!! Thank you for sharing!!!
    You always share some really great music!!! 😄

    1. Thank you Alisha! I enjoy sharing the music, it’s not so enjoyable if I keep it all to myself. I didn’t realise that I hadn’t even told my brother about Agnes Obel. We share music a lot, and he really liked her too. 🙂 Yes, I love the sound of the way she plays that piano, she seems to have a good range of instruments that you can really hear in her music and often you get to see the musicians in her videos too, which is especially enjoyable. I have a few more of these tucked in my sharing sleeve!! 😀

      1. Oh I bet he will probably enjoy her music too!!! I like it when you do song selections. You always Introduce alot of great artists. Also, Yes, she does seem to have a good range of instruments!! I’ll probably google more songs for her!!! I’ll definitely be watching for your next song selection!! 😄

    1. Thank you Judy! I don’t know why, but when I find another one of these talented singers, I tell myself that will be the last for quite some time now, there can’t be anyone better than that – then I find another one! They often seem to be female singers I find, but I’ve begun to find some men now, hoping to share them next. 🙂

Leave a comment

