Misao And Fukumaru


misao and fukumaru 07Misao with her beautiful feline friend Fukumaru

.

misao-and-fukumaru-2I created a post on this lovely lady from Japan with her handsome cat on Tumblr a while back, I was amazed at the popularity of the post.  I discovered they were pretty much all over the internet.  Misao found Fukumaru when he was a stray kitten.  Look at him now – internet star!! 😀

.

misao-and-fukumaru-5

.

misao-and-fukumaru-1

.

misao and fukumaru 09

.

misao and fukumaru

.

misao-and-fukumaru-32

.

misao and fukumaru 04

.

Misao & Fukumaru 12

.

misao-and-fukumaru-7

.

Misao & Fukumaru -11

.

misao-and-fukumaru-16

.

misao and fukumaru 08

.

Misao & Fukumaru 10

.

misao-and-fukumaru-11

.

misao & fukumaru

.

misao-and-fukumaru-3

All the photography has been taken by Misao’s granddaughter Miyoko who wanted to compile a record of her grandmothers life.  She has now published those images in a beautiful book.

Miyoko says of her grandmother, “When I see the way my grandmother is living her life, I really feel that she has a kind of strength that my generation simply can’t match.  She gets up with the sun, and goes to bed when it sets.  She loves her cat and the vegetables in her field like her own children.  If her vegetables come out well, she’s happy.  She doesn’t have to worry about questions like ’what is the point of my work?’  Her way of life fills me with admiration and a sort of envy.”  Read more….

You can find Miyoko Ihara’s website here.

.

.

12 thoughts on “Misao And Fukumaru

    1. Thank you Christine, so glad you identified with this! It did cross my mind when I was putting it together about your beloved Phoebe. 🙂 I always find it amazing that humans and animals can have such a strong bond, and could be quite possibly in love with each other in a cat/human kind of way. My grandmothers cat was a large plump tabby cat called Timmy, and I so wish I or my mother had taken a collection of pictures like this – such a beautiful record of her grandmothers life! 🙂

    1. I think they are! 🙂 It would be lovely to live that kind of uncomplicated life. If I think about it too much I could quite easily envy the thought of how good her vegetables taste! 😀

  1. Beautifully captures the simple life of an Misao and her cat by her grand daugther. I totally enjoyed the pictures from the “Read more” link. I can feel happiness and joy of Misao and Fukumaru sharing the life together. Both are companion and needing each other. Fukumaru seems to be everywhere that Misao is and be part of her life. Thank you for sharing this 🙂

    1. They do indeed seem to be joyful companions! I always find it amazing that humans and animals can find such a strong bond, and become emotionally reliant on each other. And being a little cat yourself, I guess you know exactly what I mean! 😀

Leave a comment

