Ricky & Doris: Friendship At It’s Best


drum-1

.

.
Ricky Syers and Doris Diether met in Washington Square Park where Ricky spends his days entertaining passing visitors with his marionettes.  Doris, fascinated by Ricky’s little string puppets, brought a couple of articles to show him she had written many years before when she was a columnist for a newspaper.  Ricky then created a marionette in the image of Doris especially for her, and a great friendship began.

This sums up the reality of friendship for me – two people, a generation apart, with not much in common other than a love for puppets, and yet they connected in the most charming way.  Doris says “If the person is interesting, that’s what I relate to.”

I’m very impressed by Ricky’s skill as a puppeteer, if I look at those little people long enough, I begin to see them as real.  If you take a look at his You Tube page you will find even more videos of his extraordinary day job in Washing Square Park.

I hope this little story of endearing friendship makes your day as it did mine!
.

.

.

Source for images: thevillager.comthisiscolossal.com
17 thoughts on “Ricky & Doris: Friendship At It’s Best

  1. Suzy … I love, love, love this. Such a sweet story and friendship. When we were in Rome in June, we saw a woman with a marionette that she had painting on a canvas. Very cool. I’m going to share. You always have the most amazing stories, music and photos. 😉

    1. So glad to hear you enjoyed this so much Judy! 🙂 I still watch that video myself some days. I remember that picture you posted of the woman painting with a tiny marionette. I can’t imagine how anyone would paint miniature art in that way, she must have a steady hand and stunning eyesight!! 😀

      I have to admit the credit really goes to the Colossal website for this one. There are times when I dig up little gems surfing You Tube or Vimeo, but this one came to my email. I don’t follow many websites/blogs outside of WordPress, but that one is very good. Thanks so much for sharing Judy, very kind of you! 🙂

    1. Thank you for viewing it Cynthia! 🙂 It is lovely to see friendships like these. I think friendships of people of different ages is very important. A lot families are more spread about in the places where they live today, and that does diminish the chance of close friendship/relationship with different age groups. I have over the years had friends of all ages and I wouldn’t have it any other way.

      I do love the idea of Ricky’s day job, what better job can you have than making people smile in the park! 🙂

    1. He is, he makes them all come alive! I know, I love that cat scene, it looks like it’s quite comfortable with that little puppet. I find friendships like this so good, people of different ages and backgrounds is always far more interesting! 🙂

  2. It is a lovely story and it did make my day. I was smiling whatching the last video here. When I was young, I was so fascinated by marionettes. I wanted one 🙂 Ricky’s ones are so lively and watching the playing drum and the last video of Doris walking around just about to make me belive that they are real life person 🙂

    1. Ah, that’s good!! Yes, the second one is so funny, I think even that black cat liked her strokes! 😉 What makes me laugh the most is the way he gets puppet Doris to shake her walking stick! I had a uncle who used to do exactly that. How does he get those moves so perfect with a bunch of strings?!

      I was always fascinated by marionettes when I was kid too, I was given a little Pinocchio when I was about seven. It wasn’t new. It was made of fairly lightweight plastic – and I’ve still got it. I think it dates back to when the Disney film first came out, so probably worth a bit of money. Such an adorable little toy. But I haven’t got the magic touch that Ricky has! 😉

Leave a comment

